True Love Brownies

Two years ago around Valentine’s Day, I was working as a nutrition coach for the Vermont Biggest Loser competition, and I wanted to offer my hard-working team a delicious treat: something they had been avoiding diligently, such a brownies.  We had turned their diets around in order to stabilize their blood sugar levels.  The team was doing a fantastic job sticking to low-glycemic meals which were helping them feel satisfied longer, have fewer cravings, enjoy consistent high energy levels and lose weight!  Along those lines, I made them a batch of low-glycemic brownies for a great-tasting, high-protein, high-fiber chocolatey treat. Being flourless, these brownies are also a great dessert for those following the Paleo (who allow themselves the flexibility of including legumes, as I do) diet, wheat-, grain- and/or gluten-free diet.

How to turn moist decadent brownies into something healthy?  Well, you need an unexpected ingredient. I thought if I included it in the name of the recipe, it might turn you off before giving it a try.  So I renamed them “true love brownies” since I think one of the best way to show love is to offer healthy foods.

“True Love” Black Bean Brownies (I know that sounds strange, but try to stay open-minded…)

* While great for people cutting down on coffee/caffeine, instant coffee substitutes are made from grains, often barley, which contains gluten.

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease an 8″x8″ baking pan.
  2. Melt butter or coconut oil in a small saucepan.
  3. In a small bowl, beat eggs (or whisk together flaxseed meal and water).
  4. Combine all ingredients in the pitcher of a blender and puree until smooth.
  5. Pour into prepared baking pan. Bake 40-45 minutes or until set. Do not over bake
  6. Let cool. Cut into small squares (or hearts using a cookie cutter) and enjoy one at a time.

This rich combination of chocolate, eggs, flaxseeds and black beans offers a substantial amount of protein and fiber, making these brownies wonderfully filling and satisfying, very tasty and full of love.

5 thoughts on “True Love Brownies

  1. Great recipe and I will try this. I think I have everything except the coffee substitute on hand. I completely agree that we love others by offering good nutritional food and enjoy that you’ve named your brownies after it.

  2. These were SO good! Very moist! I would add a little more cocoa next time to achieve more of a chocolate taste. Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the
    book in it or something. I think that you could do with some
    pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this
    is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

