Trying 100% Raw, Day #3

When I heard people talking about a raw foods diet, I always imagined I would be hungry.  I imagined having a hard time feeling satisfied on fresh fruits and vegetables, as much as I love them.  I usually eat some every day, but I also like the warmth of some of them cooked and I look forward to the more substantial feeling of cooked grains, beans, a baked sweet potato, squash, a hearty bread and some cheese.

I can honestly say I have not felt hungry today.  I have eaten well, all raw and it has tasted so good, I almost wish I were hungrier so that I could enjoy some more. Good thing it will be tomorrow soon, and I will wake up ready for more.

 

On Raw Day #3, I ate:

Breakfast:  I started making my breakfast last night, by soaking raw rolled oats, with raisins, sultanas, dates and cocoa nib.  This morning, I poured off the water and added some raw milk, a sliced banana and a sprinkling of shredded coconut.  I had my doubts (and was eying my daughter’s egg on toast), but it was really good! Apparently 10 minutes of cooking time is the same for rolled oats as a night of soaking time — the oats had become very nicely softened.  I was eating oatmeal, and it was more delicious than what I make on the stove all winter since it tasted fresher and exceedingly sweet with all those goodies I put into the soaking water.  

Lunch: I wasn’t even ready for a full meal after my morning bowl of oats.  I had some trail mix (nuts, seeds and dried fruit) and a bowl of grapes.  And tea with raw milk.

Dinner: We were in town and stopped at a market/cafe where they had two nice salads.  I had a simple shredded carrot salad with raisins and an organic spring mix salad with cherry tomatoes, red onions, dried cranberries and walnuts.  I have been preparing and buying “regular” food for my children, but it is interesting to see how tantalizing the bright colors of fresh raw food is.  They wanted only salad too!

One thought on “Trying 100% Raw, Day #3

Leave a Reply

