Trying 100% Raw, Day #2

The second day of my totally raw experiment went well too, though did not leave me with quite as much enthusiasm as the first day. As much as I can enjoy a fresh salad, the newness was already beginning to wear off.  I know there are many more dishes to make when following a raw diet, but being a novice, I have fallen into the (over?) abundant green salads category… at least, for now.

On Day #2, I ate:

Breakfast: fruit salad with fresh pineapple, grapes and apple.  And a larabar, “cherry pie” flavor, which consists of dates, almonds and cherries. A packaged food, which I was so happy to be doing without, but a needed bite of something more substantial than fresh fruit, and for a non-raw cook (who has not yet made them herself) the contents of this little package hit the spot.   I have two more for if/when I need them later this week.

Lunch: Left-over green salad from last night.  Green tea with raw honey and goji berries.

Afternoon snack: a large carrot juice and trail mix: walnuts, almonds, peanuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkins seeds, raisins and dried cranberries.

Dinner: another large salad this time with fresh lettuce, spinach, little tomatoes, cucumber, orange pepper, avocado and generous sprinkling of pine nuts, covered with a rich tahini dressing.  And the last bit of pineapple for dessert.

My dressing: a large spoonful of tahini, mixed with a small spoonful of apple cider vinegar, spoonful of tamari, a squirt of fresh lemon juice, salt, pepper, and a bit of water to attain the right consistency.

 

Planning for tomorrow: After referring to several recipe sections of raw/living foods websites, I realized that more variety requires more planning.  Beans and grains can certainly be included in raw meals, they just need to be soaked (instead of cooked) for anywhere between overnight to three days!!  

So tonight, before I go to bed, I am making raw oatmeal for tomorrow’s breakfast. In a glass bowl I combined raw rolled oats, raisins, sultanas, dates, and cocoa nibs, covered with water and allowed to soak all night.

Leave a Reply

